Why is the NATO summit being held in Madrid and for what?

(CNN Spanish) — LThe eyes of the world will be on Madrid throughout this week: the thirty-second NATO summit is taking place, one of the most important that has been held in recent decades because the strategic concept will be defined of that alliance for the next decade.

NATO, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, is a non-aggressive European and North American defense alliance created to promote peace and stability and safeguard the security of its members.

The objective of this summit is to determine the roadmap to follow in order to fight against the threats that loom against the member countries of the organization.

The threats can be divided into three: the eastern flank, led by Russia, and the fears it raises after the invasion it is perpetrating in Ukraine.

Secondly, the southern flank of Spain wants to put on the agenda the concern generated by the existence of jihadist terrorism in the Sahel and North Africa.

And, finally, hybrid threats, those that are made up of cyberattacks, economic pressures or misinformation.

Hence the relevance of this event that takes place this week.

Although it is usually held in Brussels, the NATO summit is held in Madrid this year, as agreed in 2021, and coincides with two anniversaries: 25 years since a NATO summit was held in Spain (1997) and 40 years since the country joined the alliance.

So that it can be carried out with the greatest peace of mind, the largest security deployment in the entire history of Spain is being carried out. Almost 9,000 police officers will ensure that everything goes well.

In total, more than 5,000 people will arrive who will be distributed through 44 international delegations, 41 of which will be headed by Heads of State and Government.

However, beyond this roadmap for the next ten years, other issues such as the war in Ukraine, which generate a great deal of concern, will also be dealt with intensively. In these days the approval of another strategic aid package for that country will be decided, so that it can face the threat that Russia is posing at this time.

Also the NATO will decide to expand its military capabilities in the east of the organization.

In turn, special attention will be paid to the incorporation of the two possible new partners, Finland and Sweden. It is expected that this Tuesday the leaders of both countries, as well as that of Turkey, will meet prior to the summit in order to pave the way for them to enter the Alliance as soon as possible.

This is NATO today

The alliance today has 30 members. In alphabetical order, they are: Albania, Germany, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United States, Estonia, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, North Macedonia , Montenegro, Norway, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the United Kingdom, the Czech Republic, Romania and Turkey.

Since the end of the Cold War, more than a dozen countries from the former Eastern bloc, including three former Soviet republics, have joined the alliance. Russia continues to see NATO as a threat despite the collapse of the Soviet Union. Amid recent tensions with the West, Russia has asked for firm guarantees that the alliance will not expand further, something NATO members have resisted.

With information from By Ivana Kottasov√° and Bryony Jones of CNN

Source link

, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.